UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> Training your whole life?

11/16/08 1:41 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
BigJimmy54
559 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

What are do you believe is the best for overall self defense and I can train in for years?

Here is my problem, I love the traditional martial arts and mma and have trained in both. However, I have to be realistic and know that I most likely will not be putting on a head gear to spar when I am 40 (27 now), I am looking for an art where I can still be training at 50, 60.

I work in law enforcement and am looking for something that is practical as well. I was thinking about getting back into karate, focusing on shidokan.

Any honest advice would be appreciated

Thank you
11/16/08 6:43 PM
LeftBench
42 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

My honest advice is to train in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Helio just turned 95 and is still training.
11/17/08 1:55 AM
shen
934 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

BECAUSE you are in Law Enforcement, I would say Judo or Sambo. Shidokan is awesome, but I don't see it as quite as valuable for a police officer.

I just think grappling training is SO important for people in law enforcement.

BJJ is great too (and a little more gentle, due to the relative lack of throws) and you can train BJJ for a long time if you train smart, but the standing Grappling in Judo or Sambo is more important for a cop.

No matter what art you do though, you WILL have to adjust the way you train as you get older. That's just part of life.

Just my .02.
11/17/08 10:27 AM
LeftBench
42 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile