UnderGround Forums

PetGround >> Do I care if dog is pit?

11/25/08 12:57 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
blackhundred
8 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Have a great new dog. I can train her, no big deal. But I've never had a pit. Is she a pit (signs?). What should I know, if? Is DNA testing helpful for training purposes? Now, I don't care so much, but I desire to be prepared. Any OG tips? She is 65 lbs, muscular, sweet, and ambiguous.
11/25/08 1:06 PM
blackhundred
8 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Help or quiver away fellas. I'm blown away.
11/25/08 1:50 PM
Ceelopez
43 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Sorry can't see the pic, its blocked on my work comp.
11/25/08 4:07 PM
Dmclat
6 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I am no pro(never had a pit, I am on my first dog now) but I don't think it matters so much, I was in the same situation with my dog when my friend dropped her off on my doorstep.

She looked very pitty but as she grew into her head she just seems like some sort of terrier mix.

I wouldn't go as far as dna testing (don't know anything about it) but I would certainly be aware of the "special needs" of a highly driven dogs and or pitbulls in specific.

If you prepare yourself through some little research you will understand the needs of pitbulls, some things IMO to be aware of with pits.

-High pain tolerance, you may not know if there is an injury so you just have to be very aware of your dogs actions.

-possible animal aggresive. Just keep an eye on it and be aware so you don't put yourselves in trouble. (I personally do not have any knowledge on how to curb this behavior).