UnderGround Forums

LegalGround >> thinking about law school

11/26/08 11:18 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
VKX
24 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

hey folks, was wondering if I could get some advice...I'm thinking about law school but not sure if I should apply yet. UGPA: ~3.4 from a top 20 undergrad; LSAT: 163. Currently working as a legal assistant in the foreclosures department of a local law group.

Personal worries: I've got 2. 1)I had a pretty bad stint in graduate school after I graduated - I left so late in the quarter that I've got a string of "F"s for courses that I didn't complete (didn't take finals). 2) One of my professors retired and at this point in time, I've only been able to pull 1 academic recommendation from a professor. I should be able to get recommendations from one of the attorneys that I work with, but I am still not sure where to go right now.

I'm trying to determine if I should even bother applying to law school at this point in time, or if I should just throw in the towel (e.g. join the French Foreign Legion, enter a monastery & sell all my worldly possessions, etc etc.). I could probably re-seat the LSAT and I could probably take some classes at the local university to maybe get a recommendation...again, not sure if it's worth it or not.

Any advice? I guess I'm at a cross-roads in my personal life...late 20's and not exactly where I thought I was going to be when I first graduated from undergrad. I've got friends that are finishing grad school and have kids on the way, so I'm feeling like a bit of a miserable slacker at the moment.

thanks
11/26/08 11:21 AM
bflex
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile