UnderGround Forums

SBGI >> Question for Matt

11/28/08 1:12 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
New2MMA
25 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Matt,

I am posting this question here as well as the JKD forum. I wasn't sure if you would see the question over there or respond to it and I'd really like to hear your thoughts on this since I do agree with your message of aliveness and many of the other things that you assert about alive MA training.

Years ago I studied FMA and JKD, as well as some small amount of Japanese Jujitsu and RBSD. Consistent with your message of aliveness, I began questioning the application of the training and the mindset that went along with the RBSD and 'tactical' stuff. I walked away from it in 2002 and began boxing and, later, BJJ. I am now a mid-level blue belt in BJJ and have been consistently training in an MMA setting consistent with that of the SBG curriculum.

I've been thinking a lot lately about going back and revisiting the old RBSD material and attempting to functionalize it. It never really left me and I remember all of it. I also have the chance to train with a really good FMA group (Sayoc) and am considering going for it. I never really lost interest in the study of self-protection (books like Gavin DeBecker and Sanford Strong's) and would like to work to come up with a functional system for SD based off of alive, MMA-type training and adding elements of FMA, RBSD (such as Krav Maga and Gracie SD material) and adding elements of 'Red Zone' and STAB, etc. I will continue to train in the performance-based arts such as BJJ and MT.

In short, my question has two parts:

1) What is the best way to work toward functionalizing the material? I think I am being overanalytical, as common sense tells me to follow the 'I' method and work to apply the material, but I feel you'd have a much greater sense of how to train it.