UnderGround Forums

DantheWolfMan UnderGround >> How much time sparring?

12/19/02 5:01 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
FJJ828
8 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 19-Dec-02 05:26 PM
NAPLES BRAZILIAN JIU JITSU L.L.C.

Questions for those who teach and train combatives & self defense: 1. How much time does everyone spend sparring or rolling? 2. What's the minimum amount of time you feel is neccesary? 3. How much is too much? This is non situational, touch gloves and go, competitive type sparring.
12/20/02 6:11 PM
P
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 20-Dec-02
FJJ828, Good question but your definition of 'sparring' limits it to 'sport model' (meaning both parties have consent and awareness and approach it 'on balance'). Personally I 'fight' competitively, sparring is part of training. Because I'm a pro MMA fighter I get in the ring at least twice a week to keep sharp, but even then my goal is to replicate the MMA experience and work on problem areas in my game. I find 'trying to win' very limiting to my progress. I just try to 'learn'. I also do Ballistic Microfights both for sport and for street. The alive 'isolation' work helps me to focus specifically on areas I feel need to be sharpened. These drills are always done 'off balance' and with me at a disadvantage. They are exhausting but are the best and fastest method toward improvement IMO. Often when 'sparring' you often default to what you do best. In the BMF model you are forced to focus specifically on solving the 'problem'. I don't think there's such thing as 'too much' or 'too little' time spent here. As long as you spend your time training 'alive' you'll see progress. I hope that helps. Phil PS: If you want a general example of what I'm talking about you might want to pick up Advanced SPEAR Applications for MMA. It was a 2hr training session Tony put together to help me get ready for my first MMA fight. The formulas fit