UnderGround Forums

LEOGround >> BORDER PATROL

12/21/08 8:08 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dishpig
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hello all,

After having passed the oral board in the application process of becoming a border patrol agent I am looking for more detailed information on how to prepare myself for the BPAcademy if all else goes through / checks out.

-Any overall insights u have will be greatly appreciated in addition to more specific info on the following:
-do u know what specific Spanish textbooks/software are used? no habla espanol
-a general idea of timeframes they have people training on a given area with. It is my understanding that trainees first 55 days focus on the LE portion while the rest is Spanish ... is it that clear cut or what?
-firearms trained with / distances / rate of fire employed / accuracy required for passing score etc ... I am a firearms newbie.
-what immigration/nationality law text is used
-what criminal law / procedure text is used
-what do they give u to eat while there? Can u use basic supplements such as fish oil, glucosamine and a multi vitamin?
-what are the protocols for things like your room ... or rather is this more like military basic ("everything will be placed in its place and not a quarter inch to the left") or something a little less break-downish?
-what sort of fitness feats they have u performing on a day to day basis aside from the end graduation requirements?
-more specifically, what running regiments are employed?
-what your experience was with the police h2h type training: baton, empty hand, spray, cuffing ... etc.
-I have seen more exotic 'vehicle' type photos of the border patrol online ... aside from the hummer / suv / sand rail or atv ... what other types of things do they have u train on such as jumping out of helicopters or riding a (damned) horse?

Any and all info is appreciated fellas ... I consider this to be one hell of an opportunity and want to succeed.

Thanks!