UnderGround Forums

LegalGround >> 1L advice

1/12/09 6:51 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
jclay
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

After some complications and setbacks, I have completed my first semester of law school. I just got my grades for the first semester. I ended up with a 3.25, which is on the lower end of what I expected.

I go to the University of Florida which, nationally, means nothing, but is generally considered the best law school in state. University of Miami and Florida State are the other big three.

I entered law school with the aspiration of doing criminal law, and I'm still set on it. My plan is to work for the state attorney upon graduating, learn the trade for 4-5 years, and from there see if I want to go into defense.

I realize I'm not going to become a millionaire, but that is not what I am in it for (I considered being a cop).

I figure if it's about money, provided I'm a good lawyer, I can eventually find a way to make it. And if I'm no good at lawyering -- well, I would never be making mega-bucks in the first place.

I have a few questions.

First, am I closing any doors if I work for the state attorney? Is there some stigma that will never leave me? Almost every criminal law guy I have heard of started as a prosecutor; from this I'm assuming it's a good idea, or at the very least, not abnormal.

I find the criminal justice system captivating, and I never consider criminal law reading a chore. I'm hoping this translates into a future job that, although stressful at times, I can find interesting and enjoyable. But I'm very interested to hear input from guys that have gone down this road -- prosecution, defense, tax attorney, whatever -- if you have a JD you know more about it than me.

I still feel like I'm shooting from the hip, but I think I'm better off than the law student justifying everything in dollar amounts.