UnderGround Forums

Jen >> Starting from scratch.....

1/22/09 1:45 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Bolo
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

My system of BJJ has constantly been evolving over the years. Last year, my system made the biggest evolutionary change as I began to understand to how apply the principles from my MBF posture therapy to BJJ. This understand not only led to changes and improvements in technique, but also to my entire perspective on grappling. These principles were the golden key I had been looking for in my BJJ career. The more I figured out how to apply of this golden key, what I discovered was astounding. As a second degree black belt, I began to get a feeling that I had not felt in a very very long time. It was that same feeling of awe I felt when I was a beginner when my instructor would show me things I never knew existed.

Throughout last year, I began to change my system in areas which I felt needed the most improvement. With the beginning of the new year, I decided to start from scratch and re-look at everything I was doing and figure out if it could be improved through the eyes of my new MBF science based perspective. Nothing was sacred. It didn't matter if something had worked extremely well in the past. I would not hold onto anything just because it been done that way for a long time or some other great instructor or fighter taught it to me that way.

As a began to look at everything with a clean slate, it was amazing to see how much could be changed and improved. The amount of physical attributes need became less and less and it was replace by mental attributes such as feel.
What was also very cool was that the use of those principles, now allowed me to figure out in minutes what once took me hours, weeks, or months. What I once considered mysteries, were no longer mysteries.