UnderGround Forums

LegalGround >> Which law school?

2/13/09 10:56 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Oklahoma44
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I've been offered a $24,000 scholarship at Ohio Northern University. It is renewable each year provided that I can maintain a 3.0 GPA. I've also been offered a slightly less significant scholarship at Liberty. It is renewable each year provided that I can maintain a 2.0 GPA in the first year and a 2.5 in the second. There is a possibility that Liberty could be free if the wife can gain employment with the school in some capacity.

I am a non-traditional student with a family. My wife currently does not work. When I attend school, she is going to have to find a job in order to support the family. There is NO other option. If the wife doesn't work, I don't go to school. It's that simple.

Ada is in the middle of nowhere. The job opportunities there are very limited at best. Lynchburg has far more employment potential for my wife.

I not willing to take on a lot of debt to go to a higher ranked school at full price. I have no desire for Biglaw.

I have a lengthy military and law enforcement background. My dream job would be to land a gig as an ADA down the road in a rural to semi-rural area. (The Wife and I will not live in a big city.)

Given the circumstances which would you choose and why?
2/14/09 3:32 AM
Xtina

frankly, i'm not familiar with either.  since you say you aren't aiming for biglaw,and assuming there isn't a huge difference in rank between the two, i'd go with whatever is in the city where you want to practice.
2/14/09 7:42 PM
Oklahoma44

ONU is a Tier 3 school. Liberty is currently unranked as it just opened in 2004.
2/14/09 10:21 PM
Shaz

Edited: 02/14/09 10:20 PM
ONU and make sure you maintain your GPA. Reach out to local DA's offices and get internships during law school, and convert the internship into a job when you graduate.

-Shaz!
2/15/09 11:52 AM
Xtina

ONU.
2/16/09 1:18 PM
bflex