UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Math majors?

3/23/09 10:15 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
LetsTalkItOut
28 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Was working and decided to go back to school. I'm in my first semester still deciding on what major to lock in on. I've been going between business admin, finance, and economics. So you sort of get what type of career I want to go into.

Now I was interested in a math major. I wouldn't describe myself as smart or dumb, but I comprehend math alright. For the people who chose math as a major, what were their reasons?

I've talked to a few people in finance and they told me a math, science, or engineering student is more likely to get the job over a finance, econ, bus admin student. Would you say that's true?
3/28/09 2:46 PM
Hank Scorpio
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

"I've talked to a few people in finance and they told me a math, science, or engineering student is more likely to get the job over a finance, econ, bus admin student. Would you say that's true?"

Depends on more than just major. You have to consider GPA, School, work experience, and many other factors.

There are probably a lot fewer quant jobs out there now for math majors anyway.
3/30/09 6:44 PM
P.V.Jena
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

LetsTalkItOut - Was working and decided to go back to school. I'm in my first semester still deciding on what major to lock in on. I've been going between business admin, finance, and economics. So you sort of get what type of career I want to go into.

Now I was interested in a math major. I wouldn't describe myself as smart or dumb, but I comprehend math alright. For the people who chose math as a major, what were their reasons?