UnderGround Forums

SoundGround >> live sound in small venues

4/3/09 11:32 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
The Noose
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I hope a few of you guys can help me with this. I am certainly no expert, but I have been playing bass in bands for about ten years. A consistent problem I have encountered and am currently dealing with in regards to getting a good live sound is STAGE VOLUME, especially with guitar players. What typically happens is that the guitar player has too much bass in his tone. Having a thick deep guitar sound is fine if you are playing alone in your room, but when you are playing with a band, it tends to get buried in the mix because it is competing with the same musical frequencies as the bass. So what does the stubborn guitar player do? They turn up their volume. If their are two guitars players, a volume war ensues and pretty soon the guy running the sound has no control over the mix because the stage volume is too loud and everything starts sounding like a muddy mess of shit. The crowd goes home with ringing ears, a headache, and no desire to see you play again. If the guitar players would simply cut some lows out of their tone, Maybe boost some highs and mids, they would cut through the mix better, sound better, and not have to turn up their guitar to rediculous levels. Convincing inexperienced guitar players (hell, even experienced players) that this is the case is a pain in the ass. Can someone post a link to any articles that talk about each instument and its place in the muscical spectrum? I need to find some documentation to back me up for a particularly stubborn guitar player. Also, if you are a sound engineer and there is something i have said that needs correction, please do so. I will refer them to this thread as well. I am more interested in the band sounding good than i am in being "right".
4/3/09 3:33 PM
DasBeaver