UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Getting a PhD....give me the scoop

4/24/09 8:19 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
amorphous
14 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

While I am still an undergrad (leaning towards Computer Science but am also considering engineering/physics) lately I have been dreaming big about getting a PhD. I understand it's hard but could one in theory maintain a somewhat normal marriage/social life?

I want a degree that will let me do some truly cutting edge research. The thing is though, I'm really not interested too much in teaching. I want to work in industry since the money seems much better. However, I've heard that in most cases a Master's is best for industry since you are more "hireable."

I know there are some on the OG with graduate degrees. Do chime in.
4/27/09 7:02 PM
asdf
5 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 04/27/09 7:03 PM
Master's degrees, they hire more of them, but there are more to hire too. The people I know are hurting for Ph.D.'s, so they hire foreigners.

If you want the say so, you almost have to have the Ph.D. You can do it with a Master's, but you have to be better than the equivalent Ph.D.

One thing though, once you get a Ph.D., you will never be expected or allowed to work only 40 hours again. OK, some places, but that should be your attitude going in. The expectations are just a lot higher. Company is not going to hire some Harvard Ph.D. to just work 40 hours and just put him his or her time doing his or her thing.
4/29/09 12:11 AM
amorphous
14 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I doubt it will just be a 40 hour per week kind of job. I know the stakes are higher than that if you are in a position that a PhD often is.