UnderGround Forums

SoldierGround >> Need Career Advice

4/27/09 9:09 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Power Clean
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hi, I'm 27 years old and I'm new to the Army. I'm going to BCT in September at Fort Jackson. I signed a contract for 3 years Active Duty as a Vehicle Mechanic.

They are starting me out as an E-3 because I have some college credits but I didn't graduate. They said if I had a bachelors I would be an E-4.

1. I want to stay in the Army as my career and retire in 20 years. But in 20 years I will be 47 years old. Isn't the age limit 42? Will they kick me out for being too old or is that age limit only for new people that haven't gone to BCT yet?

2. I would like to finish college and become an officer one day in the future. What is the best way of going about this?

3. Should I just wait until my 3 years are up and go back to school full time? Is it possible to go to school while on active duty? Maybe I could take some classes on the internet so I dont have to go to a campus.

4. In 3 years I will be 30 won't I need an age waver to attend OCS? Is it hard to get an age waver? Is it possible they would deny me for being too old?

5. What would be a good subject to major in in college considering I will be in the Army as my career? History?

6. Does OCS reject a lot of applicants? Is it very hard to become an officer is there a high wash out rate?

Thank you for any tips.
4/27/09 11:06 AM
JeffMiller
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Here's my answer to all of the above: wait and see.