UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> Toughest TMAers

5/22/09 9:16 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
oblongo
69 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Not fighting ability necessarily but pure physical and mental toughness. I've heard Chuck Norris say that his sensei would have them hold a horse stance for a half hour then throw hundreds of punches and kicks then hold the horse stance again for a long time. And apparently, the old time aikido people would make students learn breakfalls by throwing them and letting them figure it out.

That sort of training has to produce hardasses. Which TMA do you think produced the toughest black belts?
5/23/09 1:30 AM
FlashGordon2002
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Wouldn't this really depend on the instructor?

Anyway, for a TMA that consistently produces hard asses, I would say Judo.

However, I have no experience with knock-down Karate styles but I'd imagine they'd also produce very tough guys as well.
5/23/09 12:23 PM
RobbieH

FlashGordon2002 - Wouldn't this really depend on the instructor?

Some would depend on the instructor...but IMO people are born truly tough...either they stick stuff out or they quit. Just as others have super high pain thresh holds and iron chins and others don't, no matter how much they train. Some guys will be tough no matter what they do...
5/23/09 6:45 PM
laqueus

Yeah, I wonder if styles really do produce hardasses, or if they just separate them out. The only way really to tell would be to look at countries with mandatory conscription and see if everyone coming out of their training programs are tough. Israel would be a good place to look.
5/24/09 1:11 AM
FlashGordon2002

laqueues - after I posted, I thought about that, too; whether styles made people tough or are self-selecting.