UnderGround Forums

SoundGround >> So, am I a blues man yet?

6/16/09 11:46 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
whaledog
87 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06/16/09 11:46 AM

Critique my guitar playing.

I've been learning fingerstyle blues for a few months now. This is Mississippi John Hurt's 'Spike Driver Blues.'

The song is simple, it's all based around a 'G' chord. But most people I've seen play it on youtube did not come close to capturing the groove of the original. I'm not quite there yet, but here's my try.

So you can compare, here's the original:

6/16/09 2:23 PM
Hillbilly
29 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Sounds good but where are the vocals? ;)
6/16/09 3:08 PM
whaledog
87 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06/16/09 3:10 PM
Believe me, you don't want to hear me sing. If you know any singers, I'd be happy to add one to a complete version of the song. :)

6/17/09 8:42 AM
sreiter
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06/17/09 8:47 AM
unmistakable john hurt - so i guess ur doing it right i play a few MJH tunes - all very easy - but he just had a a certain smoothness - like glass to his playingmost polished blues finger style guy there was IMOif ur really looking for Critique my guitar playing - you made a few mistakes, but good over allafter playing some tunes for 30 years, i make mistakes too - like weak dull/dead pull offs, not fretting hard enough etc. - same stuff as u - GREAT for a few months
6/17/09 11:55 AM
whaledog

Edited: 06/17/09 11:58 AM