UnderGround Forums

Weapons UnderGround >> Suggestions for weapon retention resources?

9/22/09 3:21 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
rjbo71
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Can anyone suggest a good book or cd series on weapon retention (for handgun) and deployment. Who would be considered an expert? Is one as good as another? I am new to defensive handgun tactics so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
9/22/09 6:28 PM
krept
87 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I think the videos that teach the broader tactics of close range gunfighting or close quarters combat also deal with weapon retention. I've always liked Gabe Suarez simply because he does a lot of force on force stuff especially GET OFF THE X.

Here is a clip from one of his vids
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c06mH6x2Ntc

Again, there are a lot of good instructors out there, but I'm not sure how many train force on force. I know Demi Barbito does as well. FoF makes a huge difference.
9/22/09 7:53 PM
WidespreadPanic

Gabe Suarez, FTW
9/23/09 4:12 AM
Skpotamus
38 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

+1 gabe suarez, also check out southnarc's material
9/23/09 11:07 AM
WidespreadPanic

One thing o remember, just looking at vids will not do it. On the DLO vid, it's clear that even after several tries, an officer can not overcome his conditioning and kept trying to draw before he had control and distance and getting "killed".

It will obviously take significant live training in order to learn these skills so they are functional.

9/23/09 11:23 AM
rjbo71

"Close-Range GunFighting" Vol. 1 and 2

"The Combative Perspective"

I am thinking about these two. Thanks guys.
9/23/09 11:31 AM
rjbo71