UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Matt Brown Wants shot at Renzo

11/28/09 9:34 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
mexican jujitsu
189 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Saturday, November 28, 2009 - by Damon Martin - MMAWeekly.com

Coming off of yet another exciting performance, defeating Ultimate Fighter winner James Wilks, Ultimate Fighter alumnus Matt "The Immortal" Brown is looking to take a little down time for the holidays and then would like to return to fight a legend in his next fight.

The Ohio native and recent transplant to Seattle, Wash., is heading home to spend time with the family first, and then head back to camp for his next fight.

"Ideally the perfect situation for me is I can relax through the holidays and go back and spend time with my family," Brown told MMAWeekly Radio about his upcoming plans.

"When my dad passed away it was right when I started training camp and I left training camp for the funeral and came right back the day after, so I'd like to go and spend the holidays with them and be able to spend some quality time there. So ideally I'd be back in training camp around New Year's."

With fighting always on his mind, Brown was quick to make the call to UFC matchmaker Joe Silva regarding his next fight and if it gets made it could be a monster.

"I actually called Joe Silva today asking for a fight, if I get the fight that I'm asking for it might be before that," Brown commented. "I called and I asked him for Renzo (Gracie) because he's coming and he needs a warm-up fight, so I was like I feel like I'd be a good warm-up fight."

Gracie's entrance to the UFC has been talked about for weeks, and with rumors circling that he could face anyone from Matt Hughes to a stable of tough welterweights, Brown believes that he's the guy for the match-up. He makes it very clear though that he's not calling Gracie out, he's simply putting himself in place to fight a legend.