UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Gary Goodridge needs a job...

1/8/10 12:50 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
CagePotato
81 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

From CagePotato.com...

When I was in Tokyo for the New Year's Eve Dynamite!! show, I couldn't help but notice that Gary Goodridge seemed like a man who didn't really want to be fighting.  He was added to the card at the last minute, matched up against Gegard Mousasi in a fight the promoters obviously didn't intend for him to win.  His last MMA fight was in November of 2008.  He hadn't won one since his 2007 K-1 Heroes bout against Jan Nortje.  So what was he doing fighting "Sweet Sassy" on a few days' notice?

The answer, Goodridge told me when I spoke to him for an SI.com article this week, is surviving.  He was getting paid the only way he knows how, though he wishes he didn't have to.

"I’m trying to get a job, period," said Goodridge. "My background is in security, police, corrections. I went to school for four years at a college level to learn how to beat people properly. I would love to be a bodyguard, whatever. I’m just looking for a job."

Goodridge spent all of 2009 staying out of the fight game and looking for steady work.  When the call came offering him the fight with Mousasi, he still hadn't found anything and his bank account was "drying up."  Naturally, he took the fight, even though he already one scheduled in MMA Big Show for the following weekend (his TKO loss in Japan resulted in the Indiana commission refusing to license him for that bout). 

He was in reasonably good shape, he says.  His weight and cardio were on target, even if his speed and timing might not be.  He knew why the promoters were bringing him in, but what could he do?

"I was going broke looking for a job," he said. "I got a load of bills that need paying. When I got the call I thought, 'Thank God.' Now I can pay some bills."