UnderGround Forums

Wrestling UnderGround >> BJJ / Wrestling questions

1/10/10 6:52 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
lelo
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

my background is straight up BJJ. never wrestled in my life so i have no clue regarding the technicalities of wrestling. my son, who is 14 years old, decided to wrestle this season, his first time ever, and i'm really proud that he's now addicted to it. only lost once(out of 10 or so matches so far), and most of these are pins. he got an excellent base and outstanding balance, not to mention strength, which i believe helps him a lot.
i've been going to all the matches, and since i have bjj background i see some of the stuff from a different perspective. i see a lot of instances where bjj can be utilized, i.e., sweeps and perhaps submissions?
i do roll with him, and show him some of what i think he can use in the competition (btw, he never did any bjj before), i'm worried that he might get disqualified. my question goes to some of you that has done both:

1)what bjj moves can i show him that he could use?

2)are there any bjj subs that are in wrestling comps (he "submitted" two of his opponents with what he called the banana split)

an help and comments would be greatly appreciated. really psyched that my boy is addicted to this..
1/11/10 12:26 AM
HuntingtonPUNK

you cant teach him anything straight BJJ that will improve his wrestling

you can confuse him and caused him to get mangled though

wrestling crosses well into BJJ, BJJ does not cross over to wrestling

period
1/11/10 9:59 PM
lelo

see what you're saying, HP... now, what about sweeps? wouldn't that help him in some situation?
1/12/10 5:33 PM
HuntingtonPUNK

no

you must be trolling
1/13/10 11:29 AM
lelo

nope, not trolling. been lurking here and first post here on wrestling ground. been trying to learn more about wrestling for my boy's sake. like i said, only grappling i know is bjj, so it's the only thing i can relate to.