UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Starting EE program

1/15/10 12:17 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
El Maquina
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01/15/10 12:17 AM

I'll be going to school full time and working full time. I know it's gonna be rough. Any pointers from you guys that have been through it already?

p.s. Electrical Engineering
1/15/10 9:55 PM
amorphous
13 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm just getting started in Computer Engineering (I might switch to CS but I'd like to know the hardware too.) This semester I'm taking Calc 1 and my second programming class. I'm only a week in and I can already tell I can't fuck around during this semester lol. :(

The way I see it though, if I put in the time to gain these skills it will help me tremendously throughout the rest of my life. You gain so many skills with an engineering degree I'm sure there is all sorts of work you could find once you're done. It will be a bitch of a degree though, no doubt.

Just stay focused. Don't miss class. Study every night. (Be sure to have at least half an hour each day to unwind though.)
1/16/10 9:20 PM
El Maquina

You are exactly right. It's gonna be one of those degrees where I when I'm not sleeping or working, I'm studying. I'll try to find the time to unwind but don't know where it's gonna come from :)
1/17/10 3:49 AM
P.V.Jena

Studying hard and doing well has to become a lifestyle - so you need friends who believe in and act accordingly as well.

Be competitive, find books (pdfs) online, be honest with yourself regarding how much work you're actually doing (4 hours of studying vs 4 hours of browsing the forum, eating, drinking, with 30 minutes of random studying thrown in), remember the value of balance and try and keep healthy. 
1/22/10 4:35 AM
El Maquina

will do Jena thanks
2/25/10 9:16 AM
astra