UnderGround Forums

Kickboxing UnderGround >> hitting the bag with 14oz

3/19/10 4:09 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
greentrousers
9 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

i bought this 14oz boxing gloves(with the velcro) ages ago because i took a kickboxing class, bought some thumbless bags too but i have no idea where they went.

ok so i recently became a member of this gym that has 3 heavy bags. as soon as i started playing with the bag i felt so entertained. now it's been 3 days and my kuckles are a bit tender, obviously i didnt go full force since breaking my hands would cause me some problem in my every day life.

but now i do, so my question is, is it alright if i hit the bag everyday with these 14oz gloves? i mean will they get destroyed in 2 weeks or less because they were not meant for bag work, should i buy proper bag gloves, or do i have no idea what i am talking about?
3/19/10 4:17 PM
Khun Kao
931 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I have a pair of 14 oz gloves that I've owned for almost 7 years that I've used for bag work, pad work, and sparring. They are only now beginning to wear out. It's all a matter of the quality of the gloves construction, IMO.

However, if you have the money to invest, it is ultimately best to have different gloves for bag/padwork vs. sparring.
3/19/10 4:33 PM
greentrousers
9 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

thanks a lot khun kao, i basically just wanted to hear from experience.
3/19/10 4:34 PM
Bull_in_chinashop
81 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I tell all my guys to buy two sets of gloves but no one listens.. 

3/19/10 11:52 PM
Ryukyu Damashi
8 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile