UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> IT consultant hourly rate

5/7/10 7:11 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
juszczec
22 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hi folks

What is the average hourly rate for an IT consultant with 10 years experience in Java/J2EE work?

I've been asked to provide an hourly rate for a side job. I'm a full time employee at a software company and haven't a clue what is a reasonable rate.
5/7/10 2:13 PM
gitbox
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Get as much as you can.

I've seen guys with 10 years Java experience get billed out at anywhere from $50-300/hr.

I once worked for a few weeks swapping out memory all day and the bill rate was $75/hr so rates can vary greatly.
5/7/10 5:33 PM
big_slacker
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

How much do you want to make, and how much do you think they won't pay? Something above the former and below the latter.

Dunno about coders, but 10+ years of experience for network guys is in the $100-$200 range depending on the work and specialization.
5/9/10 10:14 PM
drixx2
3 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

It really really has a lot to do with your location. Also, length of contract can play a factor.

Example: I live in st. louis, and i can normally get anywhere from 45-60 hr for .net work.

Someone in cali or NY would laugh at that rate, but it's pretty good here.
5/12/10 10:25 PM
OneScoup
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Back in the day you took your salary as a full-timer then divided by 1,000 for the rate. The logic being minus 2 weeks holidays if you can work 50% of the time you make the same. So $50,000/2000 = $50/hr.