UnderGround Forums
 

ITGround >> Help configuring phones for CME using SIP


5/12/10 10:49 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
tycoon
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 7629
 
I am currently on-site and have installed a Cisco 2911 ISR with CME installed on it. I have configured the analog phones to work on it, but need assistance configuring a couple dozen Linksys SPA942 phones.

Cisco TAC doesn't support Linksys SPA942 phones on the 2911 platform, so I need someone with expertise configuring SIP phones on CME 7.0.

If you got these working before, I am willing to do some remote consulting work so you can get compensated. I basically just need to get the Linksys SPA942 phones to register using SIP, and then I can do the rest of the phones using that config.

Let me know thanks.
5/12/10 11:47 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Solidus
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 770
I don't have any experience with non-Cisco phones, but the config should largely be the same. I don't have the time to commit for consulting, but if you don't get anywhere, upload your config so I can see how far you've gotten.

Here's an example config from my lab with 1 Cisco SIP phone configured. I tried to remove everything that is unnecessary, although there still is some stuff you won't need. Other than the things I starred, obviously you'll need to change anything related to my IP scheme, but I kept it there so you have reference.

I also included my dhcp config in case you needed that... this router has a HWIC-D-9ESW-POE card, so that's why the switchports are there.
5/12/10 11:47 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Solidus
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 771

!
ip cef
ip dhcp excluded-address 10.1.130.1 10.1.130.9
ip dhcp excluded-address 10.1.130.21 10.1.130.255
ip dhcp excluded-address 10.1.30.1 10.1.30.9
ip dhcp excluded-address 10.1.30.21 10.1.30.255
!
ip dhcp pool BR2_Phones
network 10.1.130.0 255.255.255.0
dns-server 10.1.5.7
default-router 10.1.130.1
option 150 ip 10.1.130.1
!
ip dhcp pool BR2_Data
network 10.1.30.0 255.255.255.0
dns-server 10.1.5.7
default-router 10.1.30.1
!
!
voice service voip
allow-connections h323 to sip
allow-connections sip to h323
allow-connections sip to sip
allow-connections h323 to h323
fax protocol cisco
h323
sip
registrar server
!
!
voice class codec 1
codec preference 1 g711ulaw
codec preference 2 g729r8
!
!
voice register global
mode cme
source-address 10.1.130.1 port 5060
max-dn 4 **** CHANGE
max-pool 2 **** CHANGE
load 7965 SIP41.8-4-2S **** REMOVE
create profile sync 000012471476315A
!
voice register dn 1
number 4002
name Bill
!
voice register pool 1
id mac 001F.CA34.643C
type 7965 **** REMOVE
number 1 dn 1
voice-class codec 1
no vad
!
!
vlan 30
name BR2-Data
!
vlan 130
name BR2-Voice
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/0
description == BR2 IP Phone
switchport access vlan 30
switchport voice vlan 130
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/1
description == BR2 IP Phone
switchport access vlan 30
switchport voice vlan 130
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/2
description ==
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/3
description ==
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/4
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/5
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/6
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/7
!
interface FastEthernet0/1/8
!
interface Vlan30
ip address 10.1.30.1 255.255.255.0
!
interface Vlan130
ip address 10.1.130.1 255.255.255.0
h323-gateway voip interface
h323-gateway voip id BR2 ipaddr 10.1.6.1 1719
h323-gateway voip h323-id UK
h323-gateway voip tech-prefix 1#
h323-gateway voip bind srcaddr 10.1.130.1
!
router eigrp 10
network 10.0.0.0
no auto-summary
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
!
tftp-server flash:vlan.dat
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/*
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/SCCP41.8-4-2S.loads alias SCCP41.8-4-2S.loads
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/jar41sccp.8-4-1-23.sbn alias jar41sccp.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/apps41.8-4-1-23.sbn alias apps41.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/cvm41sccp.8-4-1-23.sbn alias cvm41sccp.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/dsp41.8-4-1-23.sbn alias dsp41.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/cnu41.8-4-1-23.sbn alias cnu41.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/term61.default.loads alias term61.default.loads
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/cvm41sip.8-4-1-23.sbn alias cvm41sip.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/jar41sip.8-4-1-23.sbn alias jar41sip.8-4-1-23.sbn
tftp-server flash:cme-basic-7.1.0.1.tar/SIP41.8-4-2S.loads alias SIP41.8-4-2S.loads
!
!
dial-peer voice 20003000 voip
destination-pattern [23]...
session target ras
dtmf-relay h245-alphanumeric
no vad
!
dial-peer voice 2 voip
incoming called-number .
dtmf-relay h245-alphanumeric
no vad
!
!
gateway
timer receive-rtp 1200
!
!
telephony-service
no auto-reg-ephone
max-ephones 20 **** For SCCP phones, lower or remove
max-dn 40 **** For SCCP phones, lower or remove
ip source-address 10.1.130.1 port 2000
load 7961 SCCP41.8-4-2S **** For SCCP phones only, remove
max-conferences 8 gain -6
transfer-system full-consult
create cnf-files version-stamp Jan 01 2002 00:00:00
!
5/12/10 11:52 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Solidus
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 772
I'm guessing with 3rd party phones there are no files you load onto CME and setup for tftp, like I have for my cisco phones. If you do need to, then I'm not sure what to recommend. Maybe place the files in the root of flash: and then add "tftp-path flash:" under voice register global.

Once your sure your SIP phones have gotten their IPs and are just failing registration, try enabling "debug voice register events" and "debug voice register errors" for hints.
5/14/10 1:37 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
tycoon
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 7633
Hey solidus, i appreciate your help. I decided to just get some 7912G phones that were only $49.99. We'll see how that pans out. There is a choice of using SCCP or SIP, what features exactly does SCCP have that you wouldn't get on SIP for the Cisco phones?
5/22/10 1:41 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
tycoon
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 7635
the 7912Gs had limited speed-dials, but I integrated the contact list in Outlook with the phone so that the PC can control the phone and dial out that way. so essentially that is their speed-dial now. When I setup the phones using SIP there was no "messages" softkey button on the phone, when I changed to skinny, the button showed up.
6/11/10 2:10 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
tycoon
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 7654
hey Solidus, do you know if the 7940Gs can hold up to 100-200 speed dials? There are speed-dial limitations on the 7912G.
6/12/10 12:59 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Solidus
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 774
Hey,

The 7940s can only handle one speed dial from what I can see. By speed dial, this means a line dedicated for a single speed dial entry. Not sure how you could get up to 200 of these... you'd want to look into 7914 expansion modules which will help (http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6788/phones/ps379/ps1856/product_data_sheet09186a008008883d.html), but please also confirm compatibility with CME.

CME supports a directory service which the 7940 should be able to query and then dial users. This may be close to what you need.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucme/admin/configuration/guide/cmedirs.html
6/12/10 1:55 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
tycoon
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 7655
maybe what I am referring is actually fast-dials. the sales guys on the SPA942s would hit for instance number 50 and it will dial the full number of one of their contacts.

as a test I had one of them put in 20 fast dials in her unity express login and they all show up in cme. however, they don't show in the 7912G, so I thought this is just a limitation of the 7912G itself.

Reply Post

You must log in to post a reply. Click here to login.