UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Would Of or Would Have?

5/16/10 7:34 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
carasando
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Would Of or Would Have?
This rule applies to would, should, could or might. The trouble arises because, when spoken, "would've" (short for "would have") sounds almost exactly the same as "would of". However, although no-one may notice when you're speaking, if you write "would of" you make your mistake visible.
5/29/10 10:35 PM
boxesshadows

Seeing "would of" written really irks me.
6/8/10 3:06 PM
Little Padilla

Yeah, it is supposed to would have. I am a big time grammer cop in real life. When I hear people say, "Seen" instead of, "Saw" or, "Have seen" I go on a RAGE!!!!
6/13/10 10:26 PM
asscobra
223 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

My biggest grammar pet peev is the use of "and I". I think people think it's improper to use "and me" , as in; "so and so gave my girlfriend and me free tickets to the fight", So they say "So and so gave my girlfriend and Itickets to the fight". Drives me crazy.
6/15/10 5:36 PM
boxesshadows

^ This. Especially with the barrage of facebook photos of "So-and-so and I at graduation."
6/27/10 10:25 PM
Hank Scorpio
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Little Padilla - Yeah, it is supposed to would have. I am a big time grammer cop in real life. When I hear people say, "Seen" instead of, "Saw" or, "Have seen" I go on a RAGE!!!!

"grammer cop"
7/2/10 5:43 PM
Skeletor68
92 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

1/9/11 3:06 AM
Indivia
18 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile