UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> Making friends with local IT guys(job networking)?

6/16/10 5:25 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
jonesm
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

This is supposedly an ideal way to find the job you want.

Make friends with guys in the company or field you want to work in, and they tell you what to do to get in (once they are you friends). Stuff like what new skills are needed, what job openings are coming. "Networking" I guess most people would call this kind of thing.

Sounds great, but how to go about meeting these kinds of guys.

First I should explain why I have such a shortage of IT friends but still feel I'm qualified to work in IT (pretty unusual situation to be sure).

I got my BSc. degree in computer science right before the dot com bubble burst way back in 2000. Things got hard for programmers so I decided to leave IT for another field.

That has worked out great for me, but now I'm thinking I might try IT again, and put my degree to better use.

Of course now my skills are definately out of date, however looking on job sites it still looks to me like C++ and Java are still heavily in use. And these were my specialty for sure.

I'm wondering, maybe IT guys would hang out together in some kind of IT club, I'd say IT Union hall if it was another profession. But I remember a total lack of unions back in my day.

Those guys socialize with eachother I'm sure.

I'm a very likable guy, if I could get in with those guys I'm sure they would let me know how to get back in the "game".

Thanks for any help.

Oh ya and I'm in Vancouver Canada in case that makes a difference in any advice.
6/16/10 6:14 PM
Road Warrior Fin
10 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Search for any type of users group - In a city like Vancouver, I'm sure there are plenty.

6/16/10 7:15 PM
big_slacker