UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> Ubuntu Server - Security Question...

6/22/10 2:30 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
bartos
7 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm new to ubuntu and to linux administration all together. I am coming from a pretty solid BSD background.

I just installed ubuntu server and I have it directly connected to the internet with a public IP, no separate firewall or anything. Is this a terrible idea, or not really? If not really, what sort of hardening do I need to do?

If it matters, it will be a LAMP server (apache2,mysql,php) and will also have sshd installed.
6/22/10 7:12 PM
big_slacker
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

First of all, its a bad idea to have any host attached directly to the internet.

With that said, here is a decent checklist to get started. The basics are patching always up to date and shutting down any listening services not actively needed. Set permissions tight. After that think about iptables/snort.

http://security.utexas.edu/admin/redhat-linux.html
6/23/10 2:19 PM
gsx_r
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You should probably look into what a firewall does. It blocks people from connecting, nothing more.

So unless you only want a certain IP(s) to connect a firewall isn't going to do you any good.
6/23/10 4:26 PM
JOB
122 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Who needs access to your server? Public, or private network? If it's a private network, it should be disconnected from the internet.

I have LAMP installed on my laptop with Ubuntu for some dev work with PHP, and I have iptables configured to only allow the subnet of my private network to access it. I also have the root of the server secure with a .htaccess file just incase anyone compromised my network.