UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> What part of IT should I get in to?

7/5/10 3:52 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Brian Davis
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I currently hold a degree in Applied Science (Network Administrator and Support) and i'm one test away from getting my MCSE. I currently work as a Network Technician and MIGHT be getting a Systems Administrator in the near future. I make 51.5K a year but want to get into the 80's. Which way should I go?
7/6/10 5:32 AM
Juijitsuboxer
54 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Database administration, unix/solaris administration get paid well for large companies.

Get a CCIE and get into network engineering to hit that price point with out too many problems.
7/6/10 9:29 AM
gsx_r

ITIL, SOX, any job that gets you a security clearance.

Find what you like then find a nitch inside that.
7/6/10 9:45 AM
big_slacker
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You should go into what you enjoy doing and are good at. Do you want challenging work in a field you like or just want to make an arbitrary salary target?

What does a network technician do since that term tends to vary from job to job. Switches and routers? If you enjoy that then up your game. Studying for the CCIE will indeed help you if you do it progressively and with honesty about what you do and don't know. You don't need an IE to make 80k, but you'll probably need one to get much beyond that figure in cisco shops.
7/9/10 6:32 AM
BlackJesus
120 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

What state are you in?
7/11/10 2:18 PM
Brian Davis

Texas
7/12/10 10:42 AM
BlackJesus
120 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile