UnderGround Forums

PetGround >> Just adopted two cats

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

7/14/10 7:15 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
invalid
371 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

My gf wanted to get a cat, and quite frankly I wanted one as well. Went to a local no-kill shelter and wanted to take them all home. They were short on space and said we could take two for the normal adoption fee of one. It was a great non-profit - all the shots, neuterings, Feline Luk tests done, and first two vet visists are covered by them.

Since we wanted to take them ALL home we went ahead and after about 3 visits picked two.

My sister owned a cat when I was growing up, but this is my first time actually owning a pet as an adult. I have a couple questions.

As I expected as soon as we got them home they went into hiding to find a comfort zone. One took up refuge behind my couch in the living room, the other under my bed upstairs. I didn't want to rush them, so I sat some food and water along with the litter box near the couch in the same room. I then ran out and bought a cheap $3 litterbox and put a setup in my room so the cat could eventually leave its space on its own.

After about 6 hours the cat downstairs came out and peeked at me, then ran back behind the couch. Then about 2 minutes later it slowly came out and started demanding affection and pretty much claimed me and the couch as her own lol. That cat hung out and watched some baseball with me, but every time I'd get up to get a drink or something it'd go back to hiding for a spell.