UnderGround Forums

Judo/Sambo UnderGround >> Kuzushi and set ups

7/14/10 4:53 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
JerseyJoeJitsu
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

So I've been doing judo about once a week for about 2 months to supplement my bjj and have been having the most trouble with closing the distance and getting inside. Whenever I attempt a throw I feel like I am too far away and can't take away the other guy's balance. 

Can anyone recommend a good video on youtube/elsewhere for any tips that they'd recommend?

Thanks.

7/14/10 8:09 PM
khd29

uchikomi and combinations helped me. takes time, mang.
"attacking judo"?

7/15/10 9:11 AM
judoblackbelt
19 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Step 1) Before you attempt a throw you basically have to more your opponent either sideways, backwards, forward or in a circle. It is hard to throw someone who is not moving. So how are you creating this movement? This is called setting up your throw. There are specific movements/setups for all the throws. Step 2)How is your opponent reacting to this movement you are trying to create? Example- You are trying to move your opponent backwards for an osoto attempt, opponent stiffarms you and pushing back then you would step to the side and move the opponent in a circle with the collar hand, block the ankle, push up on the elbow(of the stiffarm) and counter with saesae Tsurikomi ashi. A drill I have seen at the OTC is where they do practice throws on a crash pad moving forwards, sidewards(both sides) and backwards. This is why judo is so much more difficult to learn vs BJJ. The dynamics of judo are off the charts.
7/15/10 9:48 AM
JerseyJoeJitsu

I've been going for osoto gari and seio nage mostly. I occasionally go for harai goshi but I never can close the distance. 
7/15/10 5:04 PM
Hunter V
35 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile