UnderGround Forums

Judo/Sambo UnderGround >> Judo/ju jitsu/aikido????

8/22/10 8:40 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
PepperUK
92 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hello, after some advise.

Have a judo, ju jitsu and aikido clubs all near me. Want to take one of them up as way to protect myself should anything happen.

Problem is I'm quite new to this and not sure which one is better and why.

So after some advice which is the best style to defend your self with and why.

Cheers
8/22/10 10:01 AM
judoblackbelt
26 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You probably will get various opinions but since I have tried all three, here's mine. I couldn't get the hang of Aikido, tried BJJ then progressed to judo, then a combination of both. Judo is my passion. First, try all of them and see which one you think you you will commmit to develope into a self defense art. BJJ and judo have an advantage in that you can compete to develope your fighting skills with competitions all over the US. I will not say which one is better as as a self defense. The answer is one that you can develope/progress is the best for you. BJJ schools are everywhere, judo not as many, aikido very few. Some local dojos/clubs offer a combination of these arts taught by individual who specialize in their particular art. Business model of today.
8/22/10 10:29 AM
PepperUK
92 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Cheers for that. Actually over in the uk. Got all 3 clubs near me. Was leaning towards judo anyway. Just thought I'd ask help from those that know

Posted from my mma underground iPhone app
8/22/10 4:28 PM
PepperUK

^^^ cheers. Is it difficult to pick up?

8/22/10 5:13 PM
judoblackbelt
26 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile