UnderGround Forums

Health & Medical UnderGround >> Is expired protein okay?

9/30/10 5:39 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Rox19
581 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm looking at this site www.supplementwarehouse.com/ and it has a lot of REALLY cheap protein and stuff, but some of it is expired.  Is it still good, or should we avoid it?
10/15/10 6:43 PM
JohnnyBrabo
34 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Damn, Roxy, can't believe nobody answered this in 15 days!!

I'm no scientist or doctor buuuuut...........

I don't think the protein would go bad or anything. Unless it got all solid or something. Seriously doubt it would hurt you in any way. Other expired supps I might stay away from, but protein powder?
10/23/10 11:59 AM
matt1466
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

protein is still good even after it expires. I work for a vitamin store and both me and my boss have taken it an have had no bag effects from it.
12/12/10 11:13 PM
owlfeeder
40 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

im not sure if Rox is worried about bag effects. (i think shes a girl, tee hee)
1/7/11 8:55 PM
Mocrates

Don't buy expired protein from an online warehouse seller.

You don't know how old it is, I am assuming, and you don't know what conditions it is stored under.

If you are really strapped for cash, go to a franchise run GNC, and ask them if they have any just expired, or expiring this month protein.

You are likely to pick that up for half price and avoid wasting your money on food poisoning.
2/17/11 2:18 AM
Takedown
6 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Ditto on what Mocrates said. Stores like GNC or Vitamin Shoppe will put out very recently expired or about to expire protein supplements. Regardless, I'd still use an abundance of caution when doing so.