UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Phil Baroni: Too Old for the Jersey Shore

10/20/10 10:40 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
CagePotato
81 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Amazing interview with the NYBA, covering his brawl-based gameplans, his conditioning struggles, his fondest MMA memories, his UFC 121 picks and more. A couple highlights below...
10/20/10 10:41 AM
CagePotato
81 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

On his conditioning struggles: "It's genetic, dude. I've been training cardio for the last ten years, hard. It's genetic. You got a guy like Cain Velasquez who just don't get tired. He can just train all day. Even a guy like Koscheck...I don't think there's anything I'm not doing that other guys are doing. I have a lot better punching power than those guys. And I think I'm faster, I have more fast-twitch. I know I can beat them both in a race. But in a longer duration, those guys can keep going, and that's one of the things that separates us...It seems like a lot of the Mexican guys have real good cardio, throughout history and in the UFC. Diego Sanchez has great cardio, Cain Velasquez, a ton of guys. I don't know what it is, man, but I do the best with what I got."

On his return to middleweight: "I had almost no muscle at 170 and I still got tired, so that obviously wasn't the answer. I feel a lot stronger [at 185]. That's how I fight — I'm an explosive, fast fighter — but if I don't have that, what do I have? And I didn't have much going into that fight with Amir. I had a horrible training camp, I had a horrible performance...so I might as well go back up."