UnderGround Forums

LegalGround >> Question for Criminal Atty types

10/20/10 2:07 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Subadie
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I am not a criminal lawyer, but I deal with the mess you people like to make. For my purposes in a current case, it should be understood that a charging document (assault and battery) is admissible but a police report is not (I dont like what is in the police report). The problem is that they are not putting police report information on the charging document itself. If you are a criminal lawyer, what arguments would you make that the aspects of the charging document that include what is essentially the opinion of the arresting officer, are inadmissible.

Thanks
10/21/10 5:53 PM
Cookie Monster
55 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Motion in limine to limit or redact the portions of the charging document which are not based in fact but rather opinion. Rationale is the lack of relevance of opinion testimony (assuming cop not being called as expert in a related capacity?) and the risk of prejudicial effect on the defendant from this opinion.
10/22/10 10:24 AM
Subadie

Wow, thats really good advice. Let me look into this and see if it will work. Thanks
10/27/10 4:34 PM
Cookie Monster
55 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Work ??

Sometimes I use the cop's flowery passages in charging documents as fodder in a closing argument to flog him with when the flowery parts don't pan out to be what they alledge.

One of my favorite lines of attacking truthfulness/neutrality of the officer (pared down):