UnderGround Forums

Michigan Underground >> Belting Policy?

11/23/10 2:39 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Caecus
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11/23/10 2:40 PM

Disclaimer: I am not saying this is wrong, or I have more wisdom than whoever the BB was who gave this the ok; I am just seeking the opinion of others.<br />I'm not an expert on belting policy(BJJ) but is it common practice for someone to go to a school, pay a price, and come back with a purple belt and a certificate? Just for a reference, about 8 months prior to this the person (Charlie Cosens) was complaining (after getting beaten in a white belt tournament) about how stupid the gi was and he'd never train in it. Perhaps he has changed his philosophy now, I am just curious as to the input of you folks. For some more insight for you fellas here is his website http://cosensmma.com/index.php <br />Quick insight, all of his tournament wins were in the int. or beg. division.
*Edit, he was not ranked previously, he was a "no-belt"
11/23/10 4:22 PM
StephenL

i'm ok with money for belts, but fuck receiving a certificate.

stephen

11/23/10 4:56 PM
Samuraidog

Not quite sure I understand from your post, but personally I'd be embarrassed to wear a belt that I didn't feel qualified for. To each their own though.