UnderGround Forums

Health & Medical UnderGround >> Benefits of a Chiropractor?

12/31/10 1:53 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
allthat
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Ive been doing jiu jitsu for about 13 years along with some informal judo and have a lot of nagging back/neck pain and soreness, not from a specific injury just feels like wear and tear and recently got to the age where it takes a little longer to recover than when i was 17 :). My girlfriend recommended going to a chiropractor but have been a little hesitant. I was wondering if anyone out there has any experience with this or can recommend someone in the phoenix, az area. Im open to any other sugestions as well. Thanks!!
1/1/11 2:15 AM
MattB ATC
29 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Chiropractors, like all other professionals, can range from great to horrible. I don't know of any in the Phoenix, AZ area, but just make sure to do your research before dishing out the money.

Also, chiropractic manipulations can help, but won't lead to long term benefits unless they are followed up with proper corrective exercises to fix the underlying cause. So it may help when doing the research to find a practitioner who offers rehab or works with a physical therapist or athletic trainer,
1/1/11 12:29 PM
allthat

Thanks for the reply. In the limited research i have done so far there seems to be a controversy on whether it does do any good over the long term and that's exactly the debate I had with the gf as she swears she was cured in one visit and I was a bit skeptical.
1/2/11 1:01 AM
lueng jon
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I've never been to him but Dr. Palmer is chiropractor to the AZ Diamondbacks.

Or I can refer you to my Chiropractor in Tempe who has been treating my condition for years. He's old school and not one of these guys who pushes you into coming 3 times a week.