UnderGround Forums

Cigars, Beer & Poker Ground >> Would you have played this hand the same way?

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

1/7/11 6:37 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
AndyDANGER
101 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I started playing poker seriously about 8 months ago so I am still very green.

This was at a small live tournament 50 dollar buy in.

Table has six people on it blinds are 200/400

I am sitting about 11,200 in chips UTG
SB - 6,000
BB- 4,500
Button- 10,500
I am dealt QsQc  UTG, I raise to 1000

fold fold, Button calls, SB folds, BB calls,

Flop 2c Qh 9s   BB checks, I raise another 1000, Button re-raises to 2000, BB folds, I call. (at this time I think he has Q,9 or possibly pocket 9's.  He had been playing low and mid pocket pairs all night)

Turn: Qd    I shove all in for my last 8,000, and he calls right behind me. ( I shoved knowing I had the best hand and pretty sure he would follow if he had pcoket 9's or 2's)

Showdown: he turns over pocket nines for the boat and I turn over Quads.

I won the hand but I was just hoping for a little analysis if there would have been a better way to play the hand, was I way off with my bets? 
1/7/11 8:25 PM
VectorWega
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Your bet on the flop is horrible.  You are giving drawing hands 4 to 1 to call.  Your essentially putting your entire tournament at risk for a thousand chips and will have no clue what your opponents have because their range to call 1000 is large and you have no chance of getting away from that hand.