UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> Bjj Specific weight routines

1/22/11 6:38 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Stubbsy
14 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Ive been training in BJJ for about 8 months now, but have been in MA for about 21 years, and I have for the past 10 years or so worked a weight routine which was specific to the MA I was studying. Now, as far as I can gather there are a few exercises that I can work which will really benefit my training. So far I have:

bicep curls - an exercise I have literally ignored for about 5 years, but one which helps so much in subs such as armbar/kimura/keylock etc.

Straight deadlifts - great core strength builder as already known, but good for takedown and posture control. If you do them properly and lift with your hips, it's actually excellent for bridging.

Half deads - very style specific but I really like 'em. The bar is on the squat rack at around mid-thigh and you move into the bar, hold in the crrok of your elbow, and explosively lift the bar before dropping back on the rack. This is again great for take downs, but I find it really good for explosive posturing. I use this to break triangles etc.

Bar shoulder lift - hold your arms at right angles and have your partner put the bar in the crook of your elbows. Lift your arms forward and grip the bar in your elbows. It's kind of like an 'arnie' shoulder press but with the weight gripped in between your elbows.It basically works your double underhook bridge whilst in side control.

Dips, weighted dips working angles. - great for tricep/lat strength as a whole, but more importantly building explosive power to keep the body at bay during a pass. The key to these is altering your body angle each set so you hit everwhere you are likely to need whilst rolling.

Neck extensions - these rock. Just start off slow.