UnderGround Forums

SBGI >> Matt-Q about Boxing/Sparring

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

1/30/11 7:07 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
New2MMA
37 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hey Matt,

I've been thinking a lot about the training that I have been doing recently. I've been boxing on and off for a few years but about a year ago got pretty serious about it. I'm not planning on fighting but have been training and sparring 3 or 4 days a week to improve skill and I feel that I've improved and am happy with the results. I agree with things that you have said in the past regarding the ramping up your ability to defend yourself by sharpening the attributes that you get from live training.

I trust all of my sparring partners to go at a reasonable pace, which means that I get hit but nothing gets broken and I very rarely, if ever, have headaches the next day. However, once in a while I do catch a good one. I'll be 39 in a month and while that is still young, I have had people make the suggestion to start cutting this type of training off in my early 40's. I know that you have guys who you train who are in their 40's, 50's and above and I would like to hear your take on it. Sorry that the post is so wordy.

Thanks!
2/2/11 2:38 PM
Matt Thornton
6 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile