UnderGround Forums

SoldierGround >> Command Negatives on Martial Arts

3/19/11 1:40 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Old Red Belt
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 03/19/11 1:44 PM

I was a Military Policeman in the Army for 20 years. During that time I studied and taught the popular martial art of the time which was Karate. It went along with my Army training, and my job. But when it came down to support from the command, it was very rare. There were no officers in the martial arts due the fraternization rule they must go by as well as the fact many were just plain terrified of the fact an NCO knew something they didn't. The other factors were time, potential for injury and money. If you wanted to truly be good at a martial art you had to go outside the gate to get it and study on your own. Many such as myself did this and were successful, due to years of training. Its seemed when the Army wanted to protect its officers they came and got me and the rest of my top military students and made body guards out of us for General Officers. I was surprised to see Army Combatives in the curriculum long after I retired. Now that I'm a MMA coach for a large school just outside an Army Post its all the same thing all over. If the GIs want good training they have to go outside the gate, and they do.
3/19/11 6:14 PM
alheymann