UnderGround Forums

Hunting & Fishing Ground >> Deer Rifle and Cartridge Discussion

3/30/11 4:41 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Old Red Belt
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Something we do at Foremost Hunting.com is talk about different favorite deer rifles and cartridges. Even as a professional outdoor writer I don't think I'll ever find the perfect one but its fun to speculate, so what's your favorite?
3/31/11 2:05 PM
Muppetmower88

22-250 and 30-06 would have to be my two favorite loads
4/2/11 1:55 AM
Old Red Belt

Edited: 04/02/11 1:56 AM
I think I've killed a deer with every well known cartridge so I really don't have one favorite. The most effective have been the 30-06, 325 WSM, 350 Rem Mag, and the 45-70 the 45-70 getting the highest rating. Most of my hunting is in Louisiana and most shots are around 50 yards. You can, of course set up a longer shot, but I usually find myself bowhunting with a rifle at close range. I use a heavier cartridge not so much for deer, but the extremely large wild hogs in the area. A 12 gauge shotgun with buckshot also works very well so I purchased a Brno Combination gun O/U that shoots a 30-06 and a 12 ga load of buckshot.
4/17/11 9:46 AM
jay@tap-or-snap
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Options are endless...... History would say by far the best are 30-06 bolt or pump and 30/30 lever. Been around for over 100 years and will be around well after all the SHORT, SUPER SHORT MAGS are replaced by the hyper short mags. My fav 12ga H&R Ultra Slug with 3" fed sabots. But like I said options are endless and any reason to get a new toy is a good one.
4/17/11 4:53 PM
Old Red Belt

Edited: 04/17/11 4:54 PM