UnderGround Forums

HolyGround >> Anyone been to a charismatic church?

4/28/11 7:50 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
gord96
58 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Anyone here been to a charismatic church? My wife and I found a church close to us that looked good, but when I read further it says they are charismatic. Kinda made me not want to go. Are they the folks that jump around and roll on the floor? Is there speaking in tongues too?

Thanks for any info.
4/28/11 9:41 PM
PastorJosh
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm what you would call "charismatic". I'm an Assemblies of God pastor and we do believe in the gift of tongues and interpretation. We do get excited about being in God's presence because of what he has truly done for us, and we do worship freely and expressively in many ways. I will admit that, like most things, it has been highly misrepresented and abused, even distorted. People do think of us as maniacs and "rolling on the floor" people, and, because of our "style" it is left open to a lot of abuse. I will say that you owe it to yourself to give It a shot. No shame in not connecting with it, but I would commend it to you and, the best part, is we stand on the truths of the Scriptures. If you want to Google "Assemblies of God 16 Fundamental Truths" you can see exactly what our tenants of faith say. Hope it helps :) let me know if I can clarify anything further. Phone Post
4/28/11 10:52 PM
gord96
58 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

thanks Josh for the post. i will let you know if i have any more questions. :)
4/29/11 3:24 PM
BigSherm

yes I was a pastor of a Church Of God church, but I guess you already knew that :)
4/29/11 4:50 PM
reverend john
147 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Yeah I was a pastor in