UnderGround Forums

Judo/Sambo UnderGround >> Won my division at BJJ tournament with Judo

5/17/11 1:47 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
CyborgRoyce
32 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Well, mostly anyways. I've been training BJJ for 4 months but was doing Judo for 9 months before that. Entered a small sized tournament this past weekend and beat some guys who were much better than me.

I went in with a pretty good gameplan which played in with my strengths from Judo and kept me in control the whole time. Ended up winning my matches by something like 14-2, 9-0 and 16-0.

I know it's white belt level so I'm definitely not bragging here. Just thought some of you guys would be interested since it's what you've been saying all along.

Also, I have to say the 4 months of BJJ training certainly tightened up my game tremendously in ways that purely training Judo wouldn't have, so I'm definitely a supporter of cross-training.
5/17/11 1:54 PM
raleigh
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

vids or gtfo
5/17/11 2:19 PM
CyborgRoyce
32 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I've uploaded the vids my wife took onto youtube but set them to private. Not sure, is it proper etiquette to ask my opponents first before making it public? Otherwise if you guys tell me your youtube accounts I can add you to the list.

My finals match was against a teammate so I probably won't be posting that.
5/17/11 3:33 PM
raleigh

screw it man i post my matches
5/17/11 3:44 PM
CyborgRoyce

Hell no man. There's too many creeps on this site. There's been a couple of cases on the OG where someone has called up an OGers work and harassed their boss. I'm not risking that.
5/17/11 3:44 PM
CyborgRoyce

Btw I'm not in any way trying to turn this into a BJJ vs Judo thread. I respect both arts for what they are.
5/17/11 3:47 PM
raleigh

none of those guys are on the judo forum, ok whatever.