UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> Where to go from working data center

6/15/11 1:43 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
RoidsGracie
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I think I posted a similar thread before but oh well...

I'm currently a data center technician - doing stuff like server racking and cabling. I'd like to eventually be a networking engineer.

My specific question is - how many companies will be willing to hire a person who worked in a data center before for a junior networking position? I don't think there's a big chance to get promoted from within the company I'm at right now so we usually just host the data for our clients on our site and then the clients use their own network engineers to remote in and do all the router and switch stuff.
6/15/11 5:29 PM
big_slacker
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I generally don't care with Jr. guys if they've worked at a DC, small jack of all trades shop, PC tech, etc... What I want to see is something on their resume that shows they've touched switches/routers OTJ, something in the interview that lets me know they understand best practice from their end (meaning they won't break shit I have to fix) and in the interview that they have the basic hands on skills to do the job.

I guess what I'm saying is you need to have the keywords/experience on your resume to get to the interview, and in the interview show good judgement and the techie skills.

Skills you can get using Packet tracer/GNS3 and reading books/the web. Best practice you can as well, to some extent. But experience (doing it wrong a few times and getting yelled at) teaches you better.
6/16/11 8:23 AM
RoidsGracie

Hmmm well I do have a couple of old routers at home that I've played around with. Unfortunately, the only configuring we've ever done here is putting IP addresses on an interface so yeah.
6/18/11 10:56 AM
JohnnyLawrence