UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> Career Advice MUCH needed...

7/19/11 8:02 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Killa_J
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hey everybody! Been searching through the IT forums for a couple of days now and it seems like there are some very knowledgeable/experienced people here, so ANY feedback will be GREATLY appreciated.

Ultimately, I am seriously a career move into the world of technology. Thinking about possibly Network/Security area. Anyway, here is my situation…

Currently: I graduated last year. Have my Bachelors and Masters in Social Work. I have been employed with the government/county (Me being bi-lingual pretty much landed me this job) for about a year now as a Social Worker. Make about ~16/hr / good environment/ good benefits/ and stability, but I rarely feel challenged and have always been interested in the tech. field.

If I decide to move into the tech. field what path you would recommend? I understand that experience is key, but whatever path I do follow I will probably have to continue working full time.

- Go for an MS in Information Technology and Management. A Univ. close to me offers an online program. (http://www.uncg.edu/bae/online/MSITM_online.html) Seems do-able, but having not having an Tech background, I am concerned about doing everything online. Then from there, get my foot in a door and build experince/certs.

- OR start with Certs./Community college courses and then go from there.

What would be the best path for opportunities and for decent pay?

ANY feedback would be appreciated. Thank you in advance!
7/19/11 9:28 PM
reagan123
111 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Do you know anyone in the field?
7/19/11 10:42 PM
Killa_J

reagan123 - Do you know anyone in the field?

Yes, I have a connect with the IT guy in my department, but that is really it. Why do you ask?