UnderGround Forums

LegalGround >> Job Hunting Difficulties

7/28/11 4:39 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
StrictScrutiny
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm a recent law school grad that has been training BJJ and posting on the UG the past three years but just found this sub-forum. Has anyone else been having trouble finding a job in this economy? Is there hope for me?
7/28/11 6:39 PM
Cookie Monster
87 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Have you taken the bar? Are you a lawyer?

In a worst case scenerio you open your own shop. You might have to start small taking court appointed cases and knick knacky cases but if you bust your ass you can make things work.
7/29/11 7:25 AM
9 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I will graduate in December and have given up on finding a legal job.
7/30/11 12:24 AM
StrictScrutiny
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Cookie Monster - Have you taken the bar? Are you a lawyer?

In a worst case scenerio you open your own shop. You might have to start small taking court appointed cases and knick knacky cases but if you bust your ass you can make things work.

I went to a tier-2 school and graduated in the top-third of my class. I was sworn-in to my state's bar a year ago. I was just wondering if the job market for attorneys is this bad everywhere.
8/1/11 7:14 PM
salyer36
14 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

It's terrible... People are either accepting jobs far below what they wanted, or not getting hired at all.

That's not to say people still aren't landing really good gigs, but by and large the market for attorneys entering the field is awful.
8/1/11 10:39 PM
Spc Lee Lohff