UnderGround Forums

SurvivalGround >> Composting?

10/16/11 10:10 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
cdmontgo
78 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hi guys,

I'm a composting newbie. I have a very small patio garden, and I would like to start composting. I have a few concerns which I am trying to design around:

1. Space - I don't have a yard to work with. I live in a condo, and have a small patio and some space in the garage to work with.
2. Smell - the bin is going to be near the house, so I don't want it to smell too bad.
3. Moisture - I live in Oregon and the rainy season just started. It will last for six months or so.

I was thinking about using a bucket as a composting bin. I can get buckets for free from the bakery (that's how they get their icing from the supplier). They are about 4-5 gallons, food safe, and they come with a lid. They are small enough where I can use one or two of them on my patio, and small enough to just pick them up and shake them to mix up the contents.

I was thinking I'd drill some holes in the buckets. Maybe a few in the bottom and/or around the sides, but definitely in the lid. I'm sure I can find a charcoal filter to fit (or cut to fit) the lid to cut down on the smell. Will that be enough to not stink?

Will the buckets be good enough as far as air flow is concerned?

Also as I mentioned, I live in Oregon and the rainy season is upon us. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Oregon, the rainy season basically means pissing (aka light) rain nearly everyday for about six months. I figure I can test the moisture levels by hand squeezing the compost. If it is dripping wet, I'll throw a cover over the bucket (a trap or gas grill cover or whatever). Does that sound like it'll be sufficient?

Thanks in advance for the advice.
10/18/11 4:04 PM
cdmontgo
78 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile