UnderGround Forums

Hunting & Fishing Ground >> new hunter questions

10/17/11 12:53 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Chris
349 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Mixed Martial Arts LLC, COO

So I am just getting into hunting. Been a fisherman my entire lift.

In Massachusetts we can only hunt deer with a bow or shotgun.

I will probably hunt deer, turkey, and migratory birds.

Any thoughts on 1st shotgun I should look to buy?
10/17/11 3:53 PM
Blue Duck
50 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Remington 870. Quality shotgun, good price and versatile. It'll come with three interchangeable chokes that will let you hunt all of the game you listed.
10/18/11 9:28 AM
Chris
349 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

awesome. thanks for the advice.
10/18/11 12:01 PM
wheeels
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Rem 870 or Mossberg 500

pretty much the standard for inexpensive, reliable shotguns.
10/19/11 1:32 PM
Chris

Ttt Phone Post
10/22/11 11:29 PM
PeterIrl
23 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

How come you can't use rifles for deer in Mass?
10/24/11 11:44 AM
Chris

ended up with a Mossberg 535. I figure I'd start with something reliable, but inexpensive and if I get real serious I can always buy something pricier.

Peterlrl. I'm not sure the reason behind it, but hunting with a rifle is not permitted for most game species in Mass, including deer.
10/26/11 8:11 AM
MachetePhil
3 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

cool. I'm not a fan of Mossberg's myself but it should make a decnet first gun.