UnderGround Forums

Money, Business & Finance Ground >> Inspired by Momentum

11/22/11 7:41 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
ThePigpen
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Thought you guys might like to hear this. About 5 years ago when I was in my second year of grad school (traditional chinese medicine) I read and replied to a thread that Momentum had posted in.

Long story short I was pretty bummed by the idea of being broke when I graduated and working in an in industry where the average salary is about 25k a year.

I got on the thread and Momentum asked if we could chat on the phone about business. We ended up talking on the phone and he gave me some really great pointers about thinking outside of the box with my profession and also believing in the fact that all business success started with relationships. He told me that if I wanted to earn 6 figues with a wellness business then there was nothing to stop my but myself and my own lack of creativity.

Now about 5 years later, I've graduated, moved, opened a gym and an acupuncture practice and both are doing extremely well.

Today though, I just finished off a year long project to build a website to sell a product that I had been sitting on for a long time - a fusion of traditional chinese herbs and chocolates. PMS cured by chocolate truffles? Absolutely. We sell a ton of them and that's without a website or any marketting!

I know that I can't list the site here, but I wanted to thank Momentum for talking to a lowly OG'er years ago. It really inspired me to get out and meet people (I met my biz partner at a Toastmasters meeting) and to really think out of the box.

That's my business forum story
11/22/11 7:50 PM
LiveWire
28 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Great story. There is some advice I could use myself from the guy.
11/22/11 7:55 PM
ThePigpen