UnderGround Forums

Judo/Sambo UnderGround >> From BJJ to Judo?

12/26/11 4:58 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
jerky66
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I have been doing BJJ for 5 years and am getting bored of the sport and my school. Would you guys recommend going from BJJ to Judo? I have a school that is not that far away from me that teaches Judo.
12/26/11 8:22 PM
Seong gyeong
28 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

That's what I did, and I highly recommend it. At the least, you should be saving a nice chunk of money.

On the downside, a lot of judo schools are open only 2-3 times a week.

You'll probably need to get a new gi.
12/27/11 7:18 AM
judoblackbelt
26 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Why not? You can have a lot of fun learning the throwing aspect and as a white belt probably beat a few BB on the ground. And your ground game will get better when you fight the best BB on the ground. We do have some guys who are beasts down there comparable to BJJ BB skills. You can eventually can compete in judo as a white belt at your choice and have fun. 2-3 times of judo/week is plenty. 2 times to start out. ENjoy.
12/27/11 8:13 AM
jerky66

Thanks guys! That really helps.

I am going to try the judo school over the first few weeks in January
12/27/11 9:03 AM
Seong gyeong
28 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

If your school is run by Japanese sensei, then be careful about the etiquette.

Maybe you already know this, and they probably don't even apply to you, but just in case, what I usually see newcomers do and then getting reprimanded for:

* Don't ever walk in front of a sensei when he's speaking to others across from him.

* Don't lean against the wall.

* Don't wear a dirty gi.

* Make sure your belt is tied so that each side hangs at an even length.