UnderGround Forums

Karate UnderGround >> Started Systema....please help! Tips, advice, etc

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

2/7/12 5:53 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
seek
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hi all!

I am still training in mma, boxing, bjj, muay thaï etc...Started in1995.

I wanted to try systema and have just begun (dec. 2011)

i really love it and would love to understand more about it.

Please help a mma.tv bro!!

Are there really no technique to learn?
Is the goal to work only on intuition?
I am picking it up quite quickly, but it seems that a lot of my moves come from my cross training.
If I were a total newbie would i be able to respond approprieately?

I know that i will be doing systema till i die, and these are genuine questions!

Share whatever you guys feel to share, whether good or bad stuff about your experience!

Thanks!
2/7/12 9:10 PM
cdueck
4 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Your previous training will help you a ton but it might also hinder you when you really try to relax. Have fun.
2/8/12 4:03 PM
Missing Glove Tape

1) Make an "attn: ArthurFonzerill" thread on the UG/OG

2) Read this thread in its entirety: http://www.mixedmartialarts.com/mma.cfm?go=forum_framed.frame&thread=1754374&page=1

3) Profit!
2/9/12 2:31 PM
seek

thanks!

TTT for more advice, principles, etc....
2/9/12 10:51 PM
Missing Glove Tape

In all seriousness, I think 'systema'(all of the different variants/substyles and lineages) is a bit of an enigma. On paper the core principle(s) and philosophy is as sound and relevant to the average martial artist as anything else, but in practice(as demonstrated by the plethora of youtube clips) it comes off as extremely hokey and TMAish...and at times bordering on cultish behavior.